Manage Location Reporting & History

30-day-tracking-google

 

Learn how to turn on or off Location Reporting & Location History.

Location Reporting

To turn on or off Location Reporting:

  1. Open the  Google Maps app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Touch the  side menu icon in the bottom left corner.
  3. Touch Settings.
  4. Touch Location History under “Settings.”
  5. Touch Location Reporting under “Location History.”
  6. To turn on Location Reporting, touch Report from this device. To turn it off, touch Do not report.
Location Reporting is a per-device setting except for the Google Search app–this means that the settings sync across other Google apps signed in with the same Google Account on that device, except in the Google Search app. To turn off Location Reporting completely for your iPhone or iPad, you must turn off Location Reporting in the Google Search app and Location Reporting in other Google apps.

Location History

To turn on or off Location History:

  1. Open the  Google Maps app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Touch the  side menu icon in the bottom left corner.
  3. Touch Settings.
  4. Touch Location History under “Settings.”
  5. Touch Location History under “Location History.”
  6. To turn on Location History, touch Store Location History. To turn it off, touch Do not store.

You can also turn your Location History on or off by visiting the Location History website. Here are the steps:

  1. Visit maps.google.com/locationhistory
  2. Sign in to the Google Account you want associated with your location.
  3. Click the  gear icon, then select History settings.
  4. Choose Enable or Disable, then Save.

Important: If you turn off Location History, it’s turned off for all devices associated with that Google Account. Note that if you turned off Location History and any iPhone or iPad is offline, that device may still upload locations stored locally when you reconnect to the network later.

If you’re using a Google Apps account managed by a business, school, or government, your administrator may need to grant you access to these settings.

Location Data Collection is different from Location History and Location Reporting. When Location Data Collection is enabled, anonymous locations are periodically collected and sent to Google by Google’s location service, and location data may be temporarily stored on your device.
Source: Google