You won’t believe Google’s new #1 ranking factor

ctr-formula

So is it content – No! Maybe backlinks – No! Or maybe Social media profiles – Definitely NO! So what is it? It’s easy – Click-through rate (CTR). What is Click-through rate? Click-through rate is a way of measuring the success of an online advertising based on clicks. For example if somebody search for a keyword and click on your site, Google will rank your site higher. In conclusion optimize your site title and metadescription to be as good as possible, because this is the first thing users see when a result is displayed.

How Google uses cookies

A cookie is a small piece of text sent to your browser by a website you visit. It helps the website to remember information about your visit, like your preferred language and other settings. That can make your next visit easier and the site more useful to you. Cookies play an important role. Without them, using the web would be a much more frustrating experience.

Manage Location Reporting & History

30-day-tracking-google

 

Learn how to turn on or off Location Reporting & Location History.

Location Reporting

To turn on or off Location Reporting:

  1. Open the  Google Maps app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Touch the  side menu icon in the bottom left corner.
  3. Touch Settings.
  4. Touch Location History under “Settings.”
  5. Touch Location Reporting under “Location History.”
  6. To turn on Location Reporting, touch Report from this device. To turn it off, touch Do not report.
Location Reporting is a per-device setting except for the Google Search app–this means that the settings sync across other Google apps signed in with the same Google Account on that device, except in the Google Search app. To turn off Location Reporting completely for your iPhone or iPad, you must turn off Location Reporting in the Google Search app and Location Reporting in other Google apps.

Location History

To turn on or off Location History:

  1. Open the  Google Maps app on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Touch the  side menu icon in the bottom left corner.
  3. Touch Settings.
  4. Touch Location History under “Settings.”
  5. Touch Location History under “Location History.”
  6. To turn on Location History, touch Store Location History. To turn it off, touch Do not store.

You can also turn your Location History on or off by visiting the Location History website. Here are the steps:

  1. Visit maps.google.com/locationhistory
  2. Sign in to the Google Account you want associated with your location.
  3. Click the  gear icon, then select History settings.
  4. Choose Enable or Disable, then Save.

Important: If you turn off Location History, it’s turned off for all devices associated with that Google Account. Note that if you turned off Location History and any iPhone or iPad is offline, that device may still upload locations stored locally when you reconnect to the network later.

If you’re using a Google Apps account managed by a business, school, or government, your administrator may need to grant you access to these settings.

Location Data Collection is different from Location History and Location Reporting. When Location Data Collection is enabled, anonymous locations are periodically collected and sent to Google by Google’s location service, and location data may be temporarily stored on your device.
Source: Google

New Google rules impacting rankings

Https

On 06 August 2014 Google recently released news that they are boosting the rankings for websites that have been secured with an “SSL Certificate”. Adding an SSL Certificate to your domain in an inexpensive way to not only increase conversions and security, but also to send a signal to Google that you’re serious about your business. If your website is already serving on HTTPS, you can test its security level and configuration with the Qualys Lab tool.

1 2 3